birthday hat – a felt crown

19 Jun
felt crown

felt crown

My boy turned two this week. The night before his birthday I was so excited, it was like the anticipation of waiting for Christmas morning when I was little. When he went to bed I snuck quietly around the house putting decorations up for him to wake up to in the morning. I set out a special table cloth and put up a happy birthday banner I made and put his wrapped present on the table ready for him to see when he woke up. I think I was more excited than he was. Birthdays are so special and I want them to be cherished memories as my little ones grow up. To make Little Man feel even more special I have made him a ‘birthday crown’ a little hat that I will bring out for him to wear on his birthdays.

Little Man and his Dungar (Grandad)

I wanted to make it with a really good quality heavy felt so it would last. I found some beautiful 100% wool felt at the B&M store on high street in Fremantle. It was already double sided so I didn’t have to buy two pieces to stick together. I found three fun buttons from my collection and a bit of bright scrap fabric to add a bit more colour. It was really easy to sew. I printed a paper template to make sure it was the right size for my son and pinned it to the fabric to cut around. As he gets older I think I will cut the back of the crown and put some ribbon in it to make the size adjustable but it fits nicely for now.

At first he was a little skeptical but after a while he loved it and wore it without me asking him to!

felt crown

making the felt crown

One Response to “birthday hat – a felt crown”

  1. Leigh @ Toasted June 19, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    The crown is lovely – I especially love the colours.
    A friend made us all some felt crowns to wear at christmas – unfortunately, they make us too hot! We’ve been using them at birthdays though (the winterish ones anyways)

    x

Leave a comment