what makes a good day?

6 Sep

smile

Recently I have been thinking a lot about what makes a good day. Living with a toddler is rather unpredictable, from one minute to the next there could be tears and tantrums, or delightful smiles and wicked happiness. Some days I feel like I am just surviving, watching the clock and counting the hours until Daddy comes home to give me a break. Other days are ordinary, no major crisis but we are all a bit tired or grumpy or lacking energy. Every now and then we have a good day, even a great day. I have to wonder what is it that makes these great days, I wish I knew the formula, because I sure would like more of them.

I know there are a couple of prerequisites for a great day to have a chance at occurring. The children must be feeling well, no colds or earaches. The children (and mummy) must be well rested, a good night sleep and even a daytime nap. Good weather helps, sunshine and warmth to bath in outdoors. Our toddler needs to be feeling cooperative, no battles when mummy wants to feed him, dress him or wash him. If all these things exist simultaneously we have a recipe for a day of joy. We can play and laugh and share cuddles and make up silly songs and games and there are lots and lots of smiles. Sometimes we even have a few magic moments. Those little wondrous things that make you pause and take note and think, this is wonderful.

We had a great day this week when Ethan woke up happy and cheeky. I scooped him out of bed and we meandered into the kitchen in our pj’s and he looked up at the dial on the coffee machine and said ‘good morning smiley face!’ I laughed at his observation and our day just got better from there.

2 Responses to “what makes a good day?”

  1. eliza keating September 6, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    Yep you are so right..happy kids= happy mum…great post..Eliza Keating

  2. Bruisemouse September 6, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    It is certainly the little things that make you smile and set the tone for the day. I remember too well feeling as though I was just keeping my head above water, and waiting by the door for another grown up face at the end of the day.
    Fortunately though it is the fun moments that still make me giggle ten years later.

Leave a Reply

