you win some, you lose some

27 Aug
a little crispy all round

a little crispy all round

Something has gone awry with my baking mojo this week. I have had two quite disastrous episodes in the kitchen. Today I tried pancakes, something I make almost every week and don’t even have to think about, only today I burnt them, all of them, they looked like hard black hockey pucks (someone else’s description, not mine).

Earlier in the week I had my first unsuccessful attempt at jam drop cookies. I know what went wrong here, I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. Plus I didn’t have self raising flour at home so I attempted to make my own and I think I went amiss with the baking powder to flour ratio. I saw them over at this blog and they looked so yummy. In fact they were still very yummy although they didn’t have that cute-as-a-jam-drop-button look. So please don’t let my failure put you off, I think you should give them a go. If you do, let me know how they turn out for you!

Hopefully my mojo comes back soon.

Helping Mummy measure

helping Mummy measure

rolling cookie dough

rolling cookie dough

Don't eat the before they're baked!

trying to sneak one before they're baked

4 Responses to “you win some, you lose some”

  1. Julie August 27, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    My late father in-law use to make jam drop cookies, his tended to be a bit dry until you got to the jam but they were good.
    I bet when you make them again they will come out the way you want them to. Consider this your practice run and you will do better next time.
    Me, I don’t bake, it’s not my skill and I don’t have patience for it, but I do enjoy the products of those who do! 🙂

  2. snapitstitchitstickit: Sarah August 27, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    Oh Gosh…YES. I totally have days like this….weeks, MONTHS!!!! Hehe. Never mind…don’t the failures make the triumphs so much the sweeter?! Love your blog btw, you’re inspiring! ♥

  3. motherwho August 28, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    They look pretty good to me!

  4. Bruisemouse August 28, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    I’m glad these tasted good. It just gives you an excuse to make another batch. We made some more but his time we put chocolate chips in the centres. Yum.

Leave a Reply

