fingerprint trees

16 Aug

tree painting

I am trying to keep myself and Ethan occupied today to avoid thinking about this afternoon. He is going for surgery to fix his recurring ear infections. Everyone tells me that it’s a simple surgery and he will be fine. Nonetheless it is still surgery and he is only two and I am feeling anxious and nervous. So to avoid thinking about it we made this fingerprint tree.

I downloaded the free tree drawing from here and printed it onto a piece of nice paper. Then as a special treat let Ethan use my stamp inks. Of course at the moment I opened up the colours baby D cried and I went to settle him, when I came back Ethan had squidged his blue painted fingers into my new yellow stamp pad, now it is a green stamp pad. That’ll teach me.

Making the trees was a good lesson in letting go of my preciousness. When we started I had an idea of how the tree would look and when Ethan started to put dots all over the page I was saying, no on the branches! Then realised what I was doing and thought I should relax and just let him be creative. So it’s an Autumn tree losing its leaves.

tree painting

painting tree

10 Responses to “fingerprint trees”

  1. Kellie August 16, 2011 at 4:41 am #

    Love to hear how Ethan goes my little one may need something similiar. Can you tell what camera you use?

    • littlepieceofpie August 17, 2011 at 10:06 am #

      Hi Kellie, I let you know in a few weeks how Ethan is going with the grommets, I hope it makes a big difference, he was suffering so badly with ear infections.

      I use a Canon 350D, it’s an old model but I love it. I also have a sony cybershot that I keep in my bag because it’s so compact, and failing that there is always instagram on my iPhone!

  2. Bruisemouse August 19, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    The tree looks gorgeous.
    It is so hard to let go of how things are ‘supposed’ to be done. He has done a great job. Worth framing.
    Glad the surgery went well.

  3. lwackerman August 22, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

    Love this idea! great project for little ones!

  4. poetgranny August 23, 2011 at 3:41 am #

    Thank you–I love this! Will try it for my Sunday school class. Nice to meet you and congrats on being Freshly Pressed!

  5. Fiona.q August 23, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    love this one too.

  6. Style Unveiled August 24, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    This is such a touching story! We love hearing how our fingerprint tree was helpful.

    XO~ Style Unveiled

    • littlepieceofpie August 25, 2011 at 5:42 am #

      Thank you for sharing the template! It’s a gorgeous illustration and I love how it has turned out. I have framed it and will cherish it as my boy gets older.

  7. nestdesignstudio September 11, 2011 at 4:12 am #

    great idea!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. By-the-Ways: Quick Pull Overs | My Green Velvet Life - August 24, 2011

    […] Fingerprint Trees – You don’t have to be a kid enjoy this. […]

Leave a Reply

