home grown mahtoes

19 Jan

I read somewhere that around 18 months a child will learn 50 new words a day. That sounds hard to believe, and I would be sceptical if I wasn’t living with a 19 month old. Ethan is talking constantly and all day when he hears a new word he likes the sound of he repeats it over and over. I wish I had the capacity to retain that much new information! We were in the vegie garden the other day picking tomatoes (new word  for Ethan – mahtoes). I had so many of these tasty little red gems I didn’t know what to do with them. Then I thought, i’ll just boil them up and make some yummy passata to keep in the freezer for when I need a quick and easy pasta sauce. So that’s what we did!

chopping up tomatoes

chopping up tomatoes

tomato sauce bubbling away

tomato sauce bubbling away

Leave a Reply

